Staycation – Disney Aulani

Last year we went to Disney Aulani for a weekend staycation.  This year we did it again, this time we were meeting up with my sister’s family to enjoy some much needed family time.

Earlier this week, my grandmother passed away so it’s been a hard week.  Plus my hubby leaves for the east coast this week to be in his best friend’s wedding, so I really was looking forward to this staycation to help me deal with grief by spending time with people I love dearly.

We only stayed one night but we filled it up with fun in the pool and walking on the sand.  A wonderful short stay, but just what we needed.

IMG_0614

At the hotel they greet you with “Aloha, Welcome Home” which is very welcoming.

Our view from the hotel room.

Our view from the hotel room.

We changed into our swimsuits and jumped into the heated pool right away.  Ahhh…just what we needed.  My son was overjoyed to be having fun with his older cousins in the pool.

IMG_0621

After a buffet dinner at the Makahiki restaurant, we took a walk around the grounds to help digest the food in our tummies.

IMG_0623

Everywhere you look here, you see something beautiful.  As my husband, who is originally from Philly says, he sometimes has to pinch himself because he can’t believe he lives in Hawaii.  IMG_0628

IMG_0632

We wait for story time at the fire pit by gazing out at the sun setting over the beautiful ocean.  What a way to spend time with family and end the day.IMG_0639

IMG_0641

IMG_0642

IMG_0643

Boys having fun in the sand!

Boys having fun in the sand!

I love hearing Hawaiian myths and stories at the Fire Pit.

IMG_0648

And that’s all my little guy could handle – from swimming all afternoon with his cousins, walking the grounds, playing in the sand and story telling, he was ready to sleep.  Of course he demanded we go home to sleep (he’s 2 years old lol).

The next morning we woke up early. I went to get breakfast and hotel guests were already reserving their lounge chairs, ready to use the pool at 8am!  My little guy was ready to see his cousins again too and jump into the pool.  So after breakfast we did just that.  It was a little cloudy overhead so thank goodness for the heated pool.

The Kiddie splash pool.

The Kiddie splash pool.

Enjoying Sunday morning at Aulani

Enjoying Sunday morning at Aulani

Digging for treasure!

Digging for treasure!

My little man really got to digging :-)

My little man really got to digging 🙂

IMG_0663

It’s back to reality, but I have to admit, my reality is pretty good 🙂

Leave a Reply

